Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

I will never underestimate the power of being a motivator in the classroom and with my students and colleagues as well.

share your knowledge and experiences with students and encourage them to set realistic goals. 

To know that it is important to never humiliate a student for not knowing something, and to instead see value in their responses, to help build their confidence and not trigger survival.

This study offered some important points for the adult learner.  As an instructor, I want to be aware of concerns relating to them such as being open to allowing them to share their personal experiences.  This is important for retention.  Also, it is important to give ways to retain information such as mnemonic.  

Engage and motivate. Use influential strategies. 

Motivate students by giving timely feedback and constructive ctriticism.

I learned that it is not only important to motivate your students, but to understand their motivation and tailor their learning experience.  

Comment on Ronnie Tobias's post

I agree

Keeping our students motivated is as crucial as keeping ourselves motivated too. Having empathy towards our students will allow us to understand them better and create a better relationship where trust and respect will be the key. We motivate our students by mirroring our enthusiasm about our careers, it shows when we are in love with our field and it is contagious.

Know your students and do not be dismissive or overbearing.  Have an environment of learning. 

The importance of keeping students motivated, having empathy, and setting clear expectation for the course. 

Instructor enthusiasm is the cornerstone of student success. We must demonstrate a passion for what we teach, be knowledgeable with content, and demonstrate a sincere desire for the students acquisition of knowledge and their ability to apply it.