Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Reply to Joyce Hladky's post: will said 

I was thought the same way. 

I have learned that in order to ensure that only the required information is being released, the school officials have forms that they fill out to send the information.

I have learned that only the student or those who have the right to access the students record can view it. Unless authorized by the student.

One of the more aggressive take-aways from this portion of the reading was the explicit responsibility of the educational institution to annually notify students regarding all their rights. When I was an undergrad student, there was not this much energy and emphasis on FERPA compliancy-to the degree of severity as it is conveyed now. Privacy and autonomously have in many ways, become a human rights issue and I cannot image the historical concerns and issues before FERPA was in place to protect students and also, intuitions themselves.

Each institution needs to ensure clear guidance on its policy and when it doubt err on the side of caution

Certain criteria must be met when disclosing information about a student even if the student is still academically enrolled. Laws prohibit disclosure of things like grades and academic status. 

Student information is private

A student's written consent is very important.  As an institutional officer, it is better to err on the side of caution and not release info about a student without their consent, and even with the consent, always document the details of the release of the docs.

When in doubt alway and I mean always check the FERPA regs to make sure you are following the correct action taken.