Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

I understood the FERPA compliance is especially important process that will help protect both the student and an organization.

Understanding details of the FEPRA is very confusing and complicated!  

I think I understand better FERPA and protect my student's records.

i have learned the steps to take should a parent request or what to record if release is permitted

I did not know that parents can view their child's information if their child is under 21 and has extenuating circumstances like an alcohol or drug issue.

I learned that as an instructor, I should only be accessing student information as it applies to my teaching or course.  I also learned if we have an audit or accreditation, like we are now, that ECPI is required to put a notification in each student file stating information was shared, with who, why, how,when and for what purpose.

Ferpa compliance is kinda close to Hippa compliance in ways.

Establish a clear procedure for students and intituation officials and follow the best practice. 

THe importance of following best practice guidelines and understanding FERPA laws. 

Policies and Procedures for FERPA are complex; I learned students can permit their parents to access records as well as employers but there must be documentation stating as such.

When in doubt, it is always necessary to be cautious and to not release student educational records without  notifying the student about the disclosure.

Agian, there is detailed information with applied rules and guidelines along with exceptions - All of which all stakeholders need to maintain a clear knowledge of.

A fine review of the specifics or FERPA and its administration at the institutional level.

Students must be given the opportunity to request that Directory Information not be released.

Hello all,