Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Be a great leader by leading in example

In the area of being a manager, I found the information of the "Instructor as" being an authoritarian, disciplinarian, a cheerleader, as a judge, and not being a babysitting - great strategies for a beginning instructor.  With motivation, I can not motivate a student but I can create opportunities for the student to motivate themselves.  I think this is what excites me most about becoming an instructor.

I've learned that it is important to be aware of any resources available for the student as well as for the instructor. Knowing your company philosophy can help as a guide for the instructor to set the bar and succede as an educator. It is also important to be yourself when in search of a teaching style. 

It is honestly a little overwhelming, as there are so many things to consider when teaching.  My favorite part of teaching is being able to model professionalism and the passion that I have for my profession to the students.  I appreciated the advice about managing the classroom and that preparation is key.  This module also helped me realize how important is to have a formal PDP to continue to strengthen my abilities as an instructor for improved teaching outcomes and learning by the students.

That no matter how long you have been teaching, there is always room for improvement- therefore we must actively reflect on how we are delivering the content (even if it is the same topic).

Style is more about projecting care and concern, wanting the best for the students.

Practice, observe, revise, question, feedback, a continuous improvement project is how one develops as an instructor.

You are Not the smartest. Be a role model of good examples.

Lead by example. You do not know it all.

Model the behavior that you are asking of the students and consult your peers for best practices.