Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

This is my first time teaching in a classroom setting. This is very educational and will definitely keep in mind the startegies taught in the module.

The ice breaker methods work well and setup the class for the syllabus if done right. Then the student have a good platform to understand what the instructor and class is expecting of them.

I need to make sure that students are clear about assignment due dates

The most important idea I have learned is that students need a reason to learn. The key is to get them to buy into the course. Students become motivated when they personalize the course content to their career goals. They see relevancy and application of the content in their career preparation and success after graduation. They should create an image of them as successful employees in their chosen career. 

students function within 3 areas: cognitive, social, psychomotor

always have an icebreaker for the first meeting of class.  I ask the students to find a new friend and interview them, using the hand-out that I give them.  Questions include some background information about themselves and then reasons for taking this class.  Students introduce their new friend by the answers they received.

Deinfe course outlines, objectives, grading criteria, due dates etc into the syllabus. Also remind students of deadlines for assignments with emails, in person during lecture as well.

It's important to state expectations of students clearly and right at the beginning of a class.

First class ice breaker and declaring expectations and consequences is time used well. I will implement the ideas I learned here while working with center stage students.

To have open communication between your students. Using different color paper, fonts to highligh import parts of the syllabus. 

Icebreakers with teamwork and movement are very important to bring anxiety down in the begining of a class