Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

From the previouse module,  I've learned that by being creative when approaching a subject, we can keep the students engaged in learning. Adding some excitment and providing a different view by the use of analogies, can impact the way a struggling student succeeds. As Instructors, we can acknowledge the student simply by learning their name and therefore, creating a respectful environment. 

Again, I agree with these wonderful strategies which I have been using for many years. I do want to stresss the point about starting the class with some light hearted discussion to get the students warned up to the discussion. In my online class, I log on early. I play a little jazz, as waiting music until the class time starts and students log in. Students look forward to it, and remind me of playing the specific song I use because it helps them settle in. I also give them some history as to why I chose that jazz song, and why I'm sharing that personal event with them. I also greet the students as they log on to the system. Students are confortable using the chat feature as I encourage them to interact socially. 

Remember the human factor. Find creative was to engage students. Have a celebration sometimes. Show students your take their learning seriously 

Allow adult learners to have a few moments of child like behavior to look forward to such as a goofy holiday or event to help relieve stress of class.

It was good to learn about engaging more with studetns by having a bit of fun, lightheartedness especially at the beginning of class to promote engagement and have students be interested in the next class.  I learned that it is important to tell students how to succeed, give recognition and rewards.  I have learned that competition is important, but it is important to make sure competition is not too intense.