Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Synchronous is in real time.  The advantage of that is you can get instead feedback from your class.  The disadvantage of it is the time management for the student and it lacks the flexibility of asynchronous.  Asynchronous is what is used more often and is that I have used in the past.  However, moving forward it would be good to use a combination of both techniques. 

Always provide clear and concise instructions and expectations for students to understand and what is expected of them. 

Communication is very important for online learning

staying organized and having open communication with the students, is the best way to help students succeed

It's important to determine whether a synchronous or asynchronous class will be better for the course content. In either case, comunication and organization is essential.

The information was very imformative to me, as this is my first time teaching from home. learnig a lot and yes communication is very important to the students success

Well I learned a new term: Front loading - making all course content available on day one . Of course I know this is dependent on the course and obviously the grade level. I teach high school and front loading is not something I would not do.  

In choosing to provide synchronous or asynchronous instruction, the teacher needs to consider the advantages and disadvantages of each, including the needs of the students. If students are not able to access the information successfully, whether it is through an unorganized arrangement of the course material or through competing challenges in their personal lives, the likelihood of student success will be diminished. Student success needs to be a high priority in every aspect of course design and development.