Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

I have been teaching online for nearly 20 years and this is the first time I have been introduced to different types of students/participation. I had never heard of noisy students, etc. Super interesting.

Online courses require more time and effort by the students. Communicating with them about this might help them set up a schedule they can use to manage their time for course work and personal time or work related matters.

I enjoyed learning about the different types of learners, their attributess, and arreas they might have difficulties in the online classroom.

One takeaway I have from this module is to provide a pre-course survey to evaluate technical issues/understanding students may have to prepare to assist in any way we can. 

I gained knowledge on various types of learners and traits which may hinder the learning process.

Also red flags which can derail the learning process and the importance to learn what policies 

and procedures to use to manage these instances in the university handbook. 

I learned reasons why students leave a program and how to encourage them to stay. I've had more than a few students who wanted to drop out because they had technological difficulties. 

The idea of getting a short bio from the students to give a path in to opening discussions when conflicts arrive was particularly useful.

Participation can include affirmative and interrogative posts to help engage learners.

Doing detective work to know WHY a student is acting a certain way or wanting to quit. Look beyond the assignments (or lack of) to see the root of the troubles. 

Being an old guy in the technical school field is sometimes a challenge,
but this module has givin me some wonderful ideas as to how to handle 
things both online and in person on hand instruction.

Procrastination is the biggest issue with online learning