Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

I have learned that a brief biography of the instructor and one from the students will be the ice-breaker for establishing a relationship with students, as well as projecting your authority and presence. I appreciate the differnce techniques of how to project your authority in the E-learning environment while makin students feel comfortable.

I did my Masters in Nursing Education completely online and most of my professors followed the guidelines discussed in this module.  Despite not being face-to-face, I felt welcome, acknowledged, and that my contributions to the class were appreciated.  This module verifies for me that the essentials of online education were followed.  The information provided here gives me the impetus to put things in place for my current students to make them feel welcome and appreciated.  

I learned great ideas for this module. I like the studnet biography as a initial assisgnment. The importance of the student being comfortable in accessing their course.

As a bedside nurse, we are encouraged to build a rapport with our patients. The same idea goes in an academic setting, with our patients being replaced with adult learners. Before the course starts, I always post "6 Fun Facts About Me" as a way to introduce myself and promote interaction between the students. The students answers also allow me to get to know my students even before we have officially met. 

Sharing Credentials, and experiences assert the teachers capability and authority with the learners

This module was extremely helpful to me in understanding how to manage a classroom online. I now know how to project my presence and authority and the best way to do that.  I now know how to establish relationships and trust with my students and how to make the class more interactive for them.  I have already made a video of my biography and added to my template.  Thanks!