Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

As an online instructor, I think it is important to be able to navigate the online platform and know how to be efficient in all of the non-pedagogical aspects using technology so that more time can be spent on effectively teaching and planning how to deliver the content.

I learned about all of the different components and resources within CMS. 

I found it interesting that the instructor must ensure that the students have a workable computer in which to participate in the course.

Course delivery and organization are critical for the introduction of the instructor. Students develop relationships with the instructor during the beginning of the course, not the end.

It is important to mention that professors teach in a  variety of ways and styles.  Following a  common module or platform ensures the information taught is consitant.

Make sure to view the student's version of the course so you can understand from their point of view when teaching. 

Really comprehending and getting to know the course is important. Focusing on all aspects of the course, but one that stood out to me were instructional strategies. I look at those as ways to help me better teach the course. It also provides focus as an instructor on the most important aspects of the cirriculum. 

Students can become frustrated if the platfrom is not working.

It's very important to be confident in your topics. The students will trust what you are saying and more likely to engage with an industry expert. I find the students are also more receptive when the course benefits them now versus in the future. I make sure the topics we learn an discuss can be beneficial and relevant to their day to day life.

I have learned that it is normal for diferent instructors to take different steps and apply diferent techniques to teach the same curiculum. I can use this information going forward by applying my own ideas and personality to the way I teach a class.