Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Keeping the discussion board lively and interactive is key to engaging students in a virtual classroom. Should the dialogue begin to wane, it's crucial to inject fresh content into the discussions and encourage student participation. This strategy not only revitalizes the conversation but also ensures that students remain involved and interested in the learning process. It’s a proactive way to maintain a dynamic and inclusive online learning community.

Structure is very important in e-learning. As an instructor I need to understand the online platform and be proficient in using it to teach the class

There are several key takeaways from this content about online teaching. I learned several techniques to aid in student success, such as the importance of having clear modules and lessons with clear due dates, expectations and examples. I do my best to use all of these tools in my own online classrooms. I really like that Concorde has the course pre-designed for all courses, so students have that consistency that is valuable for online success. Not all colleges do it this way and though it is nice to have the academic freedom, I think there is something more valuable in consistency for students.

I need to completely understand the CMS (LMS, as I was taught) and all related components. I need to make sure that I am available to my students and have access to all areas of the CMS where my input is required. Students have many ways to communicate with me during the term, and I can seek out those who do not communicate to engage them.

One thing the first section really highlights is that different instructors will use different techniques to reach the same goals.

I have a good deal of experience in the online environment so this was a good review of what we should be assessing at the outset of the course.