Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

I have learned that as an instructor, I serve as a bridge between students and achievement of their goals. There are many hindrances or challenges that students may face that would have an impact on their academic performance. My role is to listen to their grievances and direct them to the best resources or means of resolving these problems. Also , I need to create the conducive environment for these students to direct their energies to be successful in class and thus translate this success to the workplace. 

Students have different needs and sometimes we are their only educational support. 

This course has given me an insight about the difference between young and mature learners. For both I understand that they can have different interests, fears, needs  and frustrations and the way they see me as an instructor. I also learn the importance of addressing and listening to their concerns (intrinsic and extrinsic needs). This course has given me an understanding on how to motivate and guide the learners why they are here in school on the first place.  

Instructors teach in groups but they also must be looked at as individuals, with different individual needs addressed

Including diverse learning starts with getting to know your students' strengths, challenges, culture and goals, learning from each other is key. 

I have learned the importance of understanding the goals of my students and the reasoning behind why they are continuing their education is important to the success of my students. Basic needs of my students also play an important part of their success. If their basic needs are not met, they may not complete the program. It is also important to listen to my students concerns, but to keep everything professional. We are there to be their instructors not their friends.