Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

diversity with culture and getting to know your students for potential needs and teaching plan 

Its important to understand students have different backgrounds and knowledge of the topic. Getting to know your students can help you use the information they know. 

Student supports are essential for student success.  I have many students who struggle with basic and safety issues.  Their focus and motivation is lacking because their mental and even physical energy is taken up by the stress of trying to cope with their life outside of the classroom.  As an instructor, I make sure to know about and take advantage of all available student support systems on campus and immediately reach out to them when I learn of a situation in a students life that will impede their learning.  This is a big part of our job as teachers....to connect students to the supports they need in order to help them regain focus on achieving their career goals.  At our institution, we have financial supports that can include help with gas money, or help with finding a place to live.  Those things can make or break the experience for the student.

Help students in need.

Different students have different expectations for the class and need to be communicated with differently. 

From this module I have learned the importance of incorporating real life experiences into classroom lectures in order to keep students engaged and to also demonstrate the transferability of knowledge (both old and new).

Understanding Student Characteristics: 

This course has been quite informative. There are many things that I have learned, however, I will narrow it down to three major points that have greatly inspired me: Cooperation between student who differ in age, How to make a student coming from another culture or country feel comfortable in class, and A good strategy to use when dealing with student frustrations.