Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Investing in your professional development as a teacher should be an intentional act that can be used to keep yourself accountable. I would like to continue to grow in my teaching pedagogy and nurture the student centered classroom. Showing genuine care for your students is what will really make a difference in their learning and their lives.

Some key points that I'm taking with me from this module:

• Know the resources available to you (and to your students)
  • Stay up to date on the latest research and developments (ie evidence based practice) in your field
  • Convince your students that you love your subject matter and them!
  • Meet and greet every single student, at least a brief contact

Professionalism is essential for both instructors and students. Preparation and positivity is my model. 

As a teacher I learned that it is easy to fall into a relationship with students that is considered "pals" but that this is not productive and that instead students can relate to instructors as friends and support systems instead.  

Balance soft skills and hard skills in the classroom. Follow the mission statement of the school while being yourself. Be credible, Dan did, compassionate, committed and clear. Represent your discipline with professionalism and theoretical knowledge, lead by example. 

Continue learn and develop a better ways of teaching and help students understand.

Model, manage, and motivate.  Remembering to be friendly but still establish the boundary of pal vs instructor. 

Stay up to date on current practices and continuously assess what is working for the students learning

Keep the energy up. Students will notice

I took away: Respect, Responsible, Results.

Respect your students, peers, career setting. You are Responsible for preparing for the students and instruction. The Results will be the effort you put in.