Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

As an instructor at a higher education, I am a mandatory reporter, even if I hear of sexual harassment or assault, not from the victim but from a source outside of the organization or from another channel other than a formal complaint or report.

The Title IX coordinator has the role of providing training to student and staff and ensuring confidentiality when a report is made.

The role of the Title IX coordinator is vital to ensure everyone's protection when situation arises. 

So basically I have gotten that all employees should or could be considered Responsible Persons.  As I have been a nurse for 22 years I have taken very seriously the role of a reporter (meaning if I know of abuse I must report it), It takes more than one person to create a safe environment for students and employees.

It is the responsibility of campus Title IX coordinator to comply quickly to all reported violations and to respond to and take necessary action to address violations by assessing what occurs and who all were involved and what action must take placed to bring about resolution.

Once sexual violence is reported, the school must protect the complainant by taking interim steps, even before an investigation is initiated.

I learned that keeping records confident and ensuring that claims are properly submitted to the title 9 coordinator. 

thank you,

Tabitha

All reports indicative of sexual harrassment or related incident must be promptly investigated.

I was able to use this information to update the Title IX policy for my school in regards to timely warning procedures and confidentiality. We had a policy in place but I was able to refine it to reflect that reporting is still important for our annual crime statistics report even if the victim chooses not to pursue any other action.

I learned about the importance of the Title IX coordinator and the need for visibility and availability to the students.