Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Rubrics make expectations and completion of the assignment very clear for students. 

Engagement is the key to success in the active learning environment. I will be looking to use more group activities in the classroom which cause the students to do research as a group, develop a presentation, deliver the presentation, and have another group provide feedback.

The section reviewing low risk engagement strategies was the most helpful. I have spent some time thinking about ways to use these strategies in my course this year. First, I want to make sure I relate the content to students' lives. I want to ensure the student sees some relevance to "real life" in what they are learning. I also want to ensure I share examples of good work to model and aspire to. This was always very helpful to me when I was a student. Lastly, I plan to give targeted and personal feedback on assignments. This will not only help the student learn but will also cultivate the personal relationship that helps students learn and grow.

I definitely think I would be a better instructor if I communicated more frequently with my students throughout the week. 

There are different types of strategies for engaging a learner such as reversed instruction, periodic pausing, flipped-classroom, and using mobile technology. The last three are elements I am more comfortable in developing courses around to help facilitate engaging learners.

Active learning also helps widen their perspectives by bouncing off one another's opinions as they work in groups.

Choose 2-3 active learning activities to use in a class. I love to teach students who are prepared for class and ready to discuss points of leaning vs. be lectured. Giving student opportunities speak and present to other students items they have learned increase understanding and application in real world scineros.