Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

I really enjoyed this module because I am a teacher who really relys on face to face feedback and discussion with my kids, and ever since we have moved to online learning, I have struggled with reading my students and reaching out to them. I will use the feedback information to really focus on how I reply to my students when they email me a question.

Feedback is key and how you word it is important. 

Feedback is such a hard thing to give teenagers.  They often take offense to critisim even when delivered gently. 

I have learned that synchronous sessions should be avoided with large groups. Also international students and slow readers can have difficulty with synchronous sessions. Synchronous sessions can be used with small groups with specific goals in mind. You should allow for some small talk at the beginning of a synchronous session.

I learned the difference between a synchronous message and a asynchronous message. 

Asynchronous is good for foreign students that are less likely to contribute in a class, group, or face-to-face setting while synchronous is best left to one-on-one conversations.

online learning and traditional classroom learning have similiar characteristics.

I was thinking about having an online session to go over a lesson on modeling a part and programming the G-code.  This module taught me that that is a bad idea!  Teaching should not be done in synchronous settings.  That should be done individually so that the student gets what he/she needs and doesn't have to feel like he is competing with other students or be embarrassed if they don't know something.

The differences betwen the use of synchronus and asynchronus discussions will be very helpful in structuring a class. It was interesting that while synchronus discussion was best suited to an individual student at a time, that is can also be suited to small groups of 5 or 6. This migh lend itself well to group assingments.