Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

I've actually learned alot about online instructing. I had no idea all the little pieces that needed to fit together for the BIG picture( the course) I also learned ways I can strenghten myself as an instructor so that in turn my students are engaged in the learning and can succeed at my course.

I grew up and took traditional classes in a classroom.  Even though I have a Master's degree, it was 22 years ago and in a traditional classroom.  So, e-learning is an impressive evolution in training.  From what I am reading thus far, there are some advantages to e-learning over classroom instruction.  However, it looks like this type of learning will take more effort for the students and instructor.  Keeping track of everything can be time consuming.  As I learn about Blackboard, it seems like a well thought out LMS that is relatively easy to use after you get comfortable with it.

I learned that the instructor has to have full understanding of the online world in order to communicate and teach the necessary information. 

Reinforcement on the strategies to help students and importance to have a strong presence. 

I learned that it is important to be prepared and understand the roles of the educator and the learner. Establish goals and outcomes early. Familiarize yourself with course content. Know your resources ---- tech support.

Making sure the student can be successful is importan. Therefore, as the instructor I must familiarize myself with the system before posting any information to the students.. how I communicate with the students online us important .