Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Try to be well organized and not to self-conscious being a new instructor!

We are going to make some mistakes, We are human. The thing of it is to learn from those mistakes. 

I have trouble remembering names and i have to remember that the students don't necessarily have the same enthusiasm about the class that I do.

As an instructor, being prepared, organized, and dedicated for class will help avoid common mistakes.

I have been teaching for almost three years and recognize many of the mistakes I made as a new instructor in the reading. The reading also helped highlight the mistakes that I still seem to be making. Mainly, not always being prepared or trying too hard to gain my student's approval instead of their respect.

This section went over new instructor fears and mistakes. It also went over how to best mitigate them. Being properly prepared for your lessons will help the most.

In teaching, there will always be a big room for improvement. Take notes of your mistakes from the previous class and develop new techniques/strategies for improving class management.

I have learned how to remain professional and not predict outcomes. I understand that I may make mistakes which I can grow from.

We are all imperfectly perfect. 

Perfection is a myth.  Be prepared and bring your passion to the table. If you screw up- so what- learn from it and keep it moving

The human side of teaching is the most important part.  Be human and then the students will trust you and listen to what you say and apply it.  Use real world examples and do your best to prepare so it will count in there lives.  

I make extra effort at the beginning of new class by writing students name and calling names during class so that next meeting I have most of their names memorized; and that seems to work for me .Students usually like when we call them by their names