Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Managing Student Behavior | Origin: ED104

This is a general discussion forum for the following learning topic:

Class Management Strategies--> Managing Student Behavior

Post what you've learned about this topic and how you intend to apply it. Feel free to post questions and comments too.

I like the idea of not having to give a final exam.  I know when I was in college and had to take a final, I would get so nervous that I would break out in hives and forget everthing I studied.  The like the idea of giving a series of smaller tests. I would have them visit a lab school to observe the skill they learned in action.  Then, give a test with only 5 short answer questions. Many students learn by hands-on experiences rather than reading and lecture.

Always listen then react. Allow students who are angry to explain why and take part of the solution, if a solution is even possible. Give time for the situation to diffuse but acknowledge their concern

It's interesting to learn about so many different techiques on stopping cheating and dealing with cheaters.  It's also informative to learn about how to spot and remove diffcult students that can cause problems for you and other students.

To allow frustrated students the moment to just vent to you their frustration prior to getting your point across. It could all just be a misunderstanding. 

I frequently have to deal with cheating or the possibility of it. This module has given me some good tips/insights in how to tackle this problem in the future. 

it is imperative to, when all else fails...remain calm.  Listen and diffuse the situation.  I may have, on occasion, let emotion get the better. of me