Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

You need to check all behavior just as you would in a traditional classroom. Make the online environment inviting to where you are alleviating any blockages or concerns

I have found that procrastination is the #1 area that students have struggled with in my online courses - and one way of the ways I have had to mitigate this issue with students is to send out two announcements per week reminding students of upcoming assignments and also personal emails to students who are more falling further behind in the course.  

There are different types of e-learners' behaviors that we must identify.  There will be many challenges with behavior management, but we must set guidelines and consequences. We must encourage all e-learners to participate and be productive. 

This section has reminded me that as continue on as an online instructor I need to become familiar with the types of various students learners and adapt my role as their history instructor to meet their respective needs and achieve my learning outcomes as to deliver an effective and engaging online course.

When students are thrust into an eLearning environment, discipline is what is needed by 90% of the students - because they feel it is the teachers role to provide knowledge. When they discover that the teacher is a facilitator, and they must do most of the work - they tend to reject this type of learning and procrasinate. Many assignments go undone and eLearners grades plummet without discipline. The teacher must skillfully manage eLearning by daily monitoring, emailing, leading in discussions, and giving constant feedback and learning incentives and rewards.

what I have learened from module 4 is that  it is very imperative that I be at the top of my game to be able to help students acheive their maxium potential.