Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

The importance of students and instructors ability to understand the use of Course Management System. The e-learning experience will depend on the students ability to navigate through this system with minimal to none systems error. Also, the need for the instructors to comprehend the use of this system to assist students if needed. 

As an effective online instructor, I must be able to communicate with my students in a variety of different ways including email, chats, post, discussion boards, and announcements, to name a few. I must be completely familiar with my CMS, online learning platform, technical support team, learner/teaching applications. I must be creative and keep the students attention during lecture, stimulate questions, and interaction among classmates. I must make sure the students have everything they need to succeed and provide support when needed.

I have learned that students need extra attention and help when they move to an online learning platform, and we need to pay extra attention to the new types of needs that we will encounter. 

One thing that I was unaware of is making a summary of the discussion responses.  I think that is a very good idea!  We have recently taken our course on-line due to the Covid-19 shelter in place order so only recently started to use the forum for discussion questions.