Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

I enjoyed the reiteration of how important a plan is in teaching. I think aligning our classes with secondary programs is vital to the success of post-secondary education. 

Honestly not much "learned"..I do agree that lessons need to be planned out to accomplish goals via learning objectives. This has been covered by CWI's new teaching training, so I am familiar and already working on alignment with other programs in the area. I should add some employment skill assessment into the the gradebook on a daily basis- that was really my key takeaway.

Know the difference between goals, objectives and outcomes is so important.  Having a lesson plan prepared and spelled out will be the key to success.  

I learned to be mindful of different student learning methods and how to begin to incorporate options in sharing the content required.  

Being a brand new instructor I found most of this information invaluable! I really liked learning different ways of teaching and plan to use the stand up/sit down form in my classroom as well as Kahoot. 

As a college instructor coming from an elementary school education experience, I was happy to see the focus on the difference between formative and summative assessment.  Both have their place, and both are needed for successful classrooms.   

As an ADN nursing instructor, I will make sure to use horizontal alignment. In nursing school, it is imperative that students are able to build on their nursing skills each semester and meet industry/board of nursing standards along the way. This also ensures that my students are competitive as they continue their education in BSN or MSN programs. 

I learned that while it's important to plan the curriculum not every part of it needs to be planned and to let students engage in there on learning active participation and to help students understand how the lesson help them meet the curriculum goals.