Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Aligning my curriculum to facilitate employable skills is a MUST in education today.

Planning with flexibility is important.  You have to have a plan, but also be flexible to the needs of the students and the questions that are presented in class.  An employers does not expect that you will spend your time on social media, but that is the go-to behavior for a students when nothing is planned for the class time.

As a teacher I need to be aware of the state and district standards so that the students are prepared and meet the expectations of the course requirements.

I think that learning how to make the difference between hands on learning and in the classroom learning. Key to success. 

I learned how to think about wriitng out a good acessment plan. Objectives

I intend to recenter to focus on learning outcomes with my students and ensuring that what is being tested centers on the learning outcomes. I like the building of Bloom's taxonomy regarding the levels of understanding. I intend to bring this up to students so they may understand how to build on learning the content. 

Organizing and planning course lessons and posting them in Blackboard allows students to also organize and plan their study path. Understanding the subject and working on their weaknesses and strengths at the levels that are required to be successful. 

While I learned several things, I quickly saved the employability rubrics for later use!  I have given a professionalism score in courses, but really liked how these rubrics were set up.

It's been a long time since I've revisited summative and formative assessments. It would be good to be conscientious that not everything students do in the classroom needs to be graded. Also, having reviewed Bloom's Taxonomy, I can clearly see it in how I was handled by my high school teachers.