Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Technology Tools for Assessing Student Learning | Origin: EL106

This is a general discussion forum for the following learning topic:

Evaluating Student Learning in Online Courses --> Technology Tools for Assessing Student Learning

Post what you've learned about this topic and how you intend to apply it. Feel free to post questions and comments too.

I have learned that you must select the best tools not omly in the classroom, but also on line. You have to make sure whatever training tools you are using are right for your class and the projects that come up along the way. 

In this module I learned the importance of assessing the assessment tool, in addition to the learner.

Thsi information was new to me because i'm a new online instructor. Having thes different assessment tools available

will assist me in teaching my class.

I learned that there is a tracking tool in Work called Track Changes which could be very helpful in providing feedback on a written assignment.

I just finished the first module which is identifying the appropriate technology tools for assessment. Very informative section and we all look for the best assessment strategy or tools to help us in achieving the learning outcomes of our courses and enhance students' learning. This section provided me with insights into the different assessment tools and when using them such as online quizzes/tests, virtual lab, e-portfolio, and WebQuest. In addition to the advantages/disadvantages of them, these are some notes taken:  

1.  Testing and acknowledging the assessment tool before applying it to make sure it is appropriate to evaluate the learning outcomes.
  2. Having many tools does not necessarily mean the learning is happening, thus the main idea behind using technology is to enhance our students' learning. 
  3. Provide online feedback to the students.