Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

I learned the difference between synchronous and asynchronous learning is that synchronous learning involves a group of students engaged in learning while asynchronous learning involves student-centered learning like self-studying approach. If both methods have proper information and presented in an organized consistent manner, so the students know what is expected of them.

There are two general ways of running a class: synchronous and asynchronous. There are multiple advantages and disadvantages to both, and as an instructor, I'll use whichever one is most appropriate for the subject.

Whether synchronous or asyncronous, orginzation is the key.

It's important that an appropriate learning method be selected for an online course. Guidelines are also important too as they regulate what's expected of students and enforced. When th learning environment is organised and there are guidelines, over time a pattern of teaching emerges. The pattern consists of several components. These include learning outcomes, communication, centralised location, submission of assignments, content delivery as well as questions and answers.

Regarding Synchronous versus Asynchronous, I am not sold on asynchronous being used in all courses, for some, specifically the trades it doesn't work for all the students, they aren't as engaged. 

Keeping students on task and current is challenging with asynchronous