Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Asynchronous discussion forums allow all students to participate. It allows them time to think about their responses and it allows them to more easily follow the discussion.  Synchronus discussions can go to rapidly for student to process and participate fully regarding the topic.

I've learned that it's important to maintain a communication with the students that inflects positive emotion with emoji's & well placed humor.

We have been giving lectures by Zoom. Apparently, this is not ideal. I much better liek the idea of having a recorded lecture, then having a group discussion of the lecture in another time, potentially in smaller groups.

Rubrics are important for the discussion thread so everyone has clear expectations of what is expected. 

As an e- learning instructor I need to identify the students’ learning styles focusing on the ones that would need more encouragement to succeed in the e-learning environment such as: the avoidant, the competitive and the dependent styles. Knowing this I need to follow the general guidelines on how to meet the challenge of encouraging online participation.

Participation on a asynchronous discussions will be used when delivering very important course content or for whole group activities in order to promote interaction among learners. Participation on synchronous discussions will be used for individual or small group meetings.

It is important to provide  in advance information required for the chat session, keep the number of students in a goup to a small  number, restrict the time for the discussion, be in control of the session. It is also important to monitor all discussion questions

It is important to provide  in advance information required for the chat session, keep the number of students in a goup to a small  number, restrict the time for the discussion, be in control of the session. It is also important to monitor all discussion questions