Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Good managers and leaders don't come from the highest performance.  Some of the best leaders I know didn't have a high ranking or was top performer.  To be a good manager or leader you need to involve your team and have an end attainable goal.

I feel I lead and I am also a good manager. There is so much to learn on this topic. I have my staff work autonomously because I value autonomy and the ability to trust in others is important and makes me feel good I have that trust in my employees. I can share my vision and they see I work hard so they can be leaders and can follow me too. 

In todays world one must were mutiple hats and be able to read a situation to decide what hat best fits.

I believe that even if you identify as one more than the other, both are necessary to be successful when you are in charge of a group of people. 

People skills and the ability to influence is key for leaders. Leaders must have the ability to develop a vision, inspire and motivate their team. I more clearly understand why managers promote stability and leaders promote change. A key insight taken from this lession for hiring is that high performers do not always make the best managers. 

I am able to do both depending on what is needed at the time.

The focus is on what is best for the company.

Leaders allow others to take the lead of their job

Reply to Daniel Falk's post:Reply to Daniel Falk's post: I am a Leader and my focus is on the students and the instructors. I am a mission-driven person and am always looking at the bottom line. In doing so, I must balance the stakeholders (i.e., students, instructors, community,  and Board of Directors). Each group requires leadership but sometimes I find myself managing.