Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Multiple types of evaluations and sources of data are needed in order to make course revisions that will result in improved student engagement and learning.

As a teacher/online trainer, I must understand that review and reflection a very important part of course evaluation. This is what we know as closing the loop. It is very crucial to do this part of the on line course because this allows me to improve my teaching experience in the following aspects:

• Improve student learning experiences (teaching and authoring processes)
  • Improve curriculum (authoring and assessment processes)
  • Focus professional development (authoring, teaching, and assessment processes)
  • Impact quality assurance and benchmarking (assessment process)
  • Impact personnel decisions ( authoring, teaching, and assessment processes)

There are numerous ways to assess, go for it and use several.  Use qualitative and quantitative data to revise the module and teaching.

One should consider formative as well as summative feedback from students and the community, to include but not limited to, deployment, methodology, pedagogy & chunking style.

In order to assure a quality learning experience for students it is important to have multiple evaluations of the course.  Stakeholders, educational colleagues as well as student evaluations are all important to consider when revising a course.  A course needs to be evaluated each time to ensure the learning experience is relevant and meets industry standards. It also needs to be evaluated to ensure students are engaging in a course that is relevant to their learning style.