Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

That with e-learning you can post assignments and grade asiignments. As an instructor, I need to be timely in my response to grading students work.

Well structured platform, clear instruction and open orientation, optimize feedback, provide supports and quick and continual feedback to students.  As I went through this, I remembered some of the online courses taken in the past...the good ones and the bad.  

When facilitating a class, it needs to be engaging, meet course objectives, highly interactive, and with meaningful activities and not just busywork. 

I have learned you should utilize different techniques to keep the student engaged and motivated in the online course.

Online teaching has many components.  The role of the facilitator or online instructor is complex.  Instructors must have a good understanding of their role in the online course.  

Adapting the current curriculum to online will be a challenge in some areas and easily adapted in others. We currently use an adequate Course Management System (CMS) that students are familiar with.  The CMS allows me to access student information, monitor progress, and communication academic progress to both student and parent. The CMS is already set up by modules with the assignments and due dates, etc.

The challenges I can foresee to moving online will be changing the delivery format and communicating differently.  Another challenge will be establishing online discussions, assessments, and I am sure there is so much more that I will delve into.

Structure and support are main keys to success for the teacher and the student.  I plan on implementing this by having clear instructions posted, tasks, assignments, and discussions posted in an organized manner, and an online presence so the students know i am here for them.