Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

I have learned to be very specific with expectations of assignment due dates and times, with applying consistent consequences to late assignments. My wheels are spinning to create and apply new learning strategies to incorporate group learning and mingling. I also have learned from this module to be very clear and specific in my syllabus, gearing toward how my course will help them learn skills and knowledge applicable to their intended job/career.

I've learned that it is vital to students success to keep them informed by using the syllabus and class calendar to ensure they have all the vital information to get the very most out of the class.  By keeping them in the know it helps them and you at the same time.  include in the syllabus a policy on late/missed assignments.  Ice breakers are great tool to use, such as a psychomotor activity.

Lead by example and set expectations and stick to them.

I am a first time instructor, I teach clinical right now and would like to eventually teach in a classroom.  This course has some great ideas.

Be clear when explaining the syllabus and expectations. 

I have learned how to manage late assignments and how to get a soul arbitrator of what determines points for late and what is acceptable I've also learned that by establishing a late assignment scoring system upfront that helps illuminate any questions about late assignments and what the final grade will be

Ilearned in this course ask the students the obejctives of the courses and make them aware the syllubus. so that that they have goal to complete the course'

Making an "appealing" syllabus has always been my intent, but I plan to do a better job next year. Starting the year off with icebreakers is so much fun. The students normally open up and participate and become more relaxed for my class. I always work with students who miss assignments...I want everyone to succeed.