Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Lecture notes keeps you focused on how to prepare for each class session and adults retain 5-7 things.  

Each student learns in an unique way and by making your lessons plans variable in learning style you can get youri nformation across better. Preparing is the key to successful learning.

Barbara McDuffie

Practice makes perfect, no matter how could you think you are.

Average attention span of adults is 15-18 minutes, we retain 25% of what we hear, 40% of what we read, and listen 4x faster than we speak. Combining different methods of learning will keep students focused and interested on the lecture being presented.

As a professor I should make the class enjoyable and make sure the learning process is percolating to the students.

Reduce your class to several 15 minutes mini lectures and in between them have activities that will bring the students to the attention of the subject matter and what they have learned in the class.

use media support for your lectures, it makes classes more atractive.

Research, plan. practice, demonstrate the topic or lecture and then observe the students as they practice, absorb the info and demonstrate the topic.  great receipe for Edutainment.

Make sure the demo materials are ready so the students stay focused and don't lose interest.  Put variety in the lesson so it is not all lecture in one class period.