Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

As a nursing instructor, I didn't really think about persons with disabilities. I equated disability as someone who can't hear, see, walk, etc. I never took into account the student with ADHD or mental health issues. I am incorporating various means of teaching so that I try to hit as many learning preferences as possible. My lectures include PowerPoint, videos, question games, and case studies. After reading this, I am going to make the transcripts of our lectures available to students.

In this module we learned about the different disabilities, I was very surpised at the percentages of disabilities!

Barriers to learning can be lowered or eliminated by offering multiple options for students to process the subject matter.

There are many challenges to be considered, not the least of which is how to open learning opportunities and how to keep peripheral processes from obstructing access to primary course material.

I really like the tip in this unit to try presenting things in several different ways. My mind is already rolling on different ways I can do that.

I found the fact that many students do not report disabilities or that the percentage of disabilities is much higher than what may become presented to a professor very interesting.  I love the fact that of incorporating a FAQ page and checklist can be an immediate source of support.

This lesson has taught me the importance of being patient with all my students. What some may percieve as lazy in a student can actually be an unfortunate manifestation of a disability(s). When creating lesson formats for the disabled, it is critical to make lessons pithy in order to maximize learning. As an instructor, I will be sure to do research on different disabilities, particularly when a student or students of mine have disabilities of any kind, in order to create a more inclusive and accomodating learning environment.