Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Gloria, it is important for communication be interactive and not qone way.It is  important  to set the correct tone for effective communication at the beginning of the course while reflecting generational and personality differences.  It should be inviting and with senserity

Communcation with a student online has to be engaging while influencing positivity as well as being supportive of their academic needs. 

Reply to kevin carrier's post:yes, this lesson definitely explains how we have to encourage the students and let them know that their feelins are valid

The acronym ARCS stands for “attention, relevance, confidence, and satisfaction

I really like the examples of positive language and the ARCS email model. While this will be my first school year starting as an online teacher, I feel like the ARCS model should be taught to all pre-service teachers. While often public school teachers don't teach online courses, this model would be helpful for addressing parents' and students' questions over email. I use the ARCS model generally, but it took me some time to learn how to write an effective parent communication. Knowing this right off the bat would be very helpful for new teachers.

From the first meeting or class start, setting the correct tone for effective communication is essential for student success, student retention, and student learning outcome.

I did not know about the components of response sequence or ARCS based communication.

I have learned that the correct type of communication is essential so students feel a connection and understand that you are there to help.  It also allows you to build a rapport with your online students, which is harder to do in this type of enviornment.