Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

This module dealt with barriers I haven't encountered. Instructor and student resistance to active learning. I've been using an active learning approach for four years now, and have not encountered student resistance... fortunately. Technology is key in making active learning work online. The lack of support of online instructors by F2F instructors was interesting. Good points there about online instructors being well supported.

It is important to make sure technology is working properly and have a plan B

Being prepared and having alternate plans in case technology fails is a must for successful online learning. Online learning cannot be successful without proper technology.

Misconceptions of “Active Learning” for e-learners is the difficulty of the work assignments. E-learners may find work more difficult and time consuming than learners in traditional classroom settings. Incorporating active learning techniques preset opportunities to build and test their knowledge without barriers to impede on fulfilling goals of self-actualization. A goal moving forward is to assure learners know upfront the expectations for the course as well as ideas on how to be successful.

"One of the biggest barriers in implementing active teaching techniques is the instructor's attitude."

This statement caught my interest from the start.  I have always found that the instructor's attitude is the most important thing in teaching in any classroom or in implementing new ideas/teaching techniques. I've seen this from both sides and everyone suffers. When an instructor is not willing to try new ideas and techniques everyone suffers and when the students are not being taught with the latest techniques and strategies, the students are not ready for the workforce.