Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

My first year teaching I thought because I worked in the operating room for years that my knowledge alone would teach the class. I was wrong. My students wanted to know why not just how I worked on a daily dasis in the OR. I know make sure I explain why a procedure is performed a certain why and I back my statements up with our Standards of Practice.Thank was a rough year.

As an instructor I establish the ground rules on the first day of class. Students are informed about the stucture and expectations of the Mod early on. I establish my credability as a qualified, interested, approachable instuctor in a professional manner. During lectures I use Guided Notes so that students can concentrate on the pertinent material and are relieved of questioning what is important and relevant.

I also keep clear boundaries as an instuctor and establish myself as someone who is interested in the success of each of my students. I maintain consistency of stucture and clear guidelines.

As a new instructor I had a challenge with remembering students names, which is no longer the case as this is very meaningful to each individual to be viewed as a valued member of the classroom and someone I take an interest in.

I maintain a journal of challenges in the classroom, techniques I used previously that worked and did not work. Each group is different, therefore I customize my instructing according to my audience.

I think when you don't know and admit it, it makes the students feel more comfortable with admitting they don't know something. I tell my students that they will learn a lot of new information, and they will probably forget much of it until they actually use it. I take time to help them know where to look and how to look things up. Sometimes the example is when I don't know the answer to a question.

Hi Rosalyn,