Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Planning Impactful Lessons | Origin: ED125

This is a general discussion forum for the following learning topic:

Effective and Efficient Instructional Strategies --> Planning Impactful Lessons

Post what you've learned about this topic and how you intend to apply it. Feel free to post questions and comments too.

I have come to learn over the short couple of years that I have been an instructor that having impactful lessons developed and integrated has grealty improved the engavement of the students in the classroom and the lab. 

This has been the most motivating and informative lesson that I have learned so far. I look forward to putting these teachings into practice in the very near future.

Engaging your students with educational discussion is just as important as giving assignments, regardless of grading. This section brings up a good point....don’t assign work simply for the sake of keeping the student busy! An ungraded discussion recapping daily events may be more beneficial than two chapters of homework.

I liked the strategy of having effective opening activities...the list 5, sentence stems and resumes/business cards....it is a great way to begin the day. I learned about guided discussions and ending with an inspirational and organized review of the material. All said I will be practicing.....

Not quite sure a teacher needs to be riminded to start teaching day one. Students should expect to start off with education. Not every course is sparkling for motivation. You need to dig deep to motivated some. A creative way for math is a number crossword puzzle. Make one and challenge students to make their own. The less motivated will make it small and easy with addition and subtraction. The highly motivated will have longer numbers using exponents and square roots.