Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

As a new instructor I often fall into the lecture routine without working in group activities. My first step is to make sure I am incorporating all learning style needs into course plan for the day. Helping students be involved will help retention. Another step on the continuum is to ensure that all students know the best way to contact me and when I'm available if they need to speak privately about any issue/question/problem/concern/assignment. Third is to share myself, my history, some of the successes that have come with persistence. I usually share my own test anxiety with them and offer tools for dealing with anxiety on a frequent basis. The institution itself has taken several strides during quarter break to address areas of student discontent. Included in this has been totally updating one of the computer labs. Computer access is critical and one of the biggest complaints both faculty who don't have their own office/computer and students have. There are times when having equipment that works is as critical as having an instructor available...maybe more :))

Begin to establish a professional relationship with my students on day one.
Be there for them. Not behing my desk working on my computer.
Challenge them and show them they can do it.

Explain that I am there to help them be successful.
Explain that if they need my help I am there for them. If need additional help that I am available every tuesday after class for X hours.
Reach out via email so they know I am available and that it is ok that reach out and connect with me that way.