Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Developing an Understanding of CTE | Origin: EC101

This is a general discussion forum for the following learning topic:

Your First Year as a CTE Teacher (Part 1) --> Developing an Understanding of CTE 

Post what you've learned about this topic and how you intend to apply it. Feel free to post questions and comments too. 

I now have a better understanding of the Program of Study and how that works within each CTE route. I also really enjoyed the history behind CTE and how is has evolved over time. 

I have learned a great deal! I have really enjoyed seeing how other states have implemented Programs of Study ans some of the resources they have develooped to assist teachers in developing excellent CTE programs. ACTE's self assessment tool will be most helpful.

I like how CTE has evolved.  As a first year teacher, I didn't realize the history behind CTE and all the opportunities.

Reply to Summer Henson's post:

I too, have a better understanding of how CTE programs came about and I wish I had known about this while I was in high school or even if my high school offered these programs.

I have a better understanding of the CTE programs and I totally enjoy being a part of this program.

CTE is a very broad curriculium with alot of pieces attached. The history was very interesting to me. I do have a better understanding of the CTE program.  

There are many more components to CTE curriculum than I realized.  I enjoyed the history, and I want to spend more time studying the High Quality CTE POS Framework document 

This introduction reveals the broad support of CTE. The support and development start locally with classroom teachers, and extend to state and nationwide set of standards for secondary and postsecondary programs. 

Learning the history of CTE has given me a better overall outlook on how to better prepare students I will be instructing.