Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

The use of a rubric allows some great opportunities for students to get more than just a letter grade and this is important in a science class.  On so many assignments, all I can offer them is "correct" or "incorrect", but having a rubric for discussion posts and essay questions allows me to make sure students are understanding the material holistically.

Rubrics make it clear what I as an instructor am looking for...but they can also hinder creativity.  

Using rubrics are important to keep the students knowing what is expected of them at all times. Rubrics are very time consuming for the instructor and may have to be updated often depending on the class.

I have learnt that a rubric is essential in that it allows educators to articulate the goals of an assignment. As a student, i can benefit from the use of a rubric since I can understand the primary requirements of an assignment. I can also judge my work by going through a rubric and developing an understanding of the main points of the assignment. 

I thought that this was an important note: Rubrics can also restrict the students’ creativity.

Using a rubric provides several advantages to both instructors and students.

I have been inspired to create a rubric for my two weekly writing assignments so that more is put on the students to accomplish and I have less to constantly remind them of.  I think having writtien down explicit expections of what I want to see in writing will help clear up any confusion my students have had with why they got the score they recieved.