Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Legal Obligation | Origin: EL111

This is a general discussion forum for the following learning topic:

Assistive Technologies for the Online Learner --> Legal Obligation

Post what you've learned about this topic and how you intend to apply it. Feel free to post questions and comments too.

None of this was really new to me.  I have been a teacher as the discourse about accessibility has evolved.  I have also been glad to see more training offered to teachers about what an institution has to offer, what tools can be used by instructors and students who need them.  

My frustration continues to be about students who do not go through the Accessibility office, but verbally report disabilities to me.  It's important to encourage students to be proactive to get accommodations in higher ed.    It helps clarify, for instructors, what to accommodate, and it informs the institution about where it needs to improve services for better accessibility.

I found it interesting and insightful that we need to be sure that all of the information that we are posting on our online class is in respect to accomidation.  Failure to do so would mean lawsuit - that is a big watchout/awareness learning for me.

Lectures must include closed capture or could be open to a lawsuit for not being accessible to all. 

I have realized that my institution over the years have implemented a lot of the requirments set fourth by the ADA.

All material presented for learning in an online environment must be easily accessible for the students with disabilities, for example; close captioned.

It is important for the online instructor to know about the services available for the online learner with a disability. This knowledge can build a more welcoming atmosphere for the student with disabilities and can avoid legal action.

Simply realizing that on line instructors must comply with ADA is something we must all be aware of.