Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Creating a Communication Code of Conduct can be helpful to address possible scenarios instructors/students might possible encounter in the classroom and the appropriate action to be taken if not followed. In addition, the I2S, S2I, and S2S descriptions provide guidelines as to the way instructors and students need to model proper and adequate communication. 

Providing a sample rubric for assignments to students so they know how they are graded might be a useful tool for the future. 

Recommendations for contact or Communication Codes of Conduct support the students to recognize the existing communication rules and the likely consequences for not following them. The value of setting rules, anticipations, and boundaries is countless. As an instructor, I know things that are obvious to me may be new to the students and I should go over online etiquette and expectations.

I thought the idea of having a FAQ area that student could post questions to and other students could answer is a great idea. It allows them to engage and share knowledge with each other while also lighten the load a little for the instructor.

encourage communication and set your guidelines make sure they understand guidelines and follow them because it is part of the curriculum and work with your students not everyone learns the same way be flexible but stay in the guidelines

First time hearing the "netiquette"! I learned its important to establish guidelines for for communication participation to enhance and move the conversation forward, and that developing and modeling the type of communication thats expected for respectful communication.

I learned that netiquette rules must be communicated to the student and followed by both the instructor and students.

Establishing a communication code of conduct can improve participation as it nurtures a positve learning environment.