Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Student Overview/Characteristics | Origin: ED322

This is a general discussion forum for the following learning topic:

Introduction to Culinary Instruction --> Student Overview/Characteristics

Post what you've learned about this topic and how you intend to apply it. Feel free to post questions and comments too.

This is a very real start to this course.

I am intriqued that there are many pros and cons given to our industry supplied with useful solutions.

As culinary instructors, we have the opportunity to engage with eclectic age groups and experiance levels. This is one of the challenges of training in the culinary environment; however, the satisfaction of helping a culinary team come together is great.

As a food service instructor, I have the opprtunity to help food service students to follow different ways of nutrition  or  culinary art fields. Like James said it is very satisfactory help others.

Teaching culinary arts, striving to become a better teacher, and thinking about different ways to explain a recipe or a concept have had the wonderful side-effect of helping me become a better cook along the way.  Figuring out how to get your students to understand a dish, or a technique, or a concept forces you to look at things in different ways too. 

The reading gave me a moment to reflect on my teaching methods and strategies.  How do I introduce the class to the Culinary World?  Do I consider their background and how they were raised before delving into my course?  Do I even ask about their habits and how that will effect their experience?  Thinking about this generation X and how they learn and process knowledge gained is important to my teaching.  I want to start out my class addressing all of these questions and more to help them understand why, what I'm teaching, is important.