Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Some of the information that is collected that best helps faculty interact with students at orientation is the students hometown, place of employment or prior employment and where they may have gone to high school or any other post secondary education school.

We try to let students know what each department does and who there contact person will be. I think the more departments work together the more we can help the students feel like they have picked the right program.

We recieve NO information from admissions about students. I am an instructor and start a new class blind every three weeks. Occasionally an instructor will come warn me about a student coming into my class next course. We do not attend orientation, I do not even know when it happens. We typically have starts of 100 to 300 students at a time, I would not know what to do with bios on all those students. I do teach one of the early program classes and see most of the students at some point in thier time here. More knowledge would be helpful, but where to start, and how do you get around all the privacy acts in place in a letigis state like California?

Matt--

Regarding the privacy issues, FERPA et al allow for sharing of information on a 'need to know'. The information shared with faculty should be focused on things that will help that student succeed.

My guess is that even though you don't receive any information, you generally gather it (again) by interacting with the students and/or faculty sharing that among themselves as you have indicated. The point of this suggestion is that the 'learning curve' is significantly decreased for the rest of the institution to be able to help students sooner if that information is shared somehow.

I agree, you don't have time to read lengthy bios, etc. Do you have some type of activity int he first week of classes that allow you to get a feel for the students?

Susan