Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Dawn,

Excellent! This information is so helpful in personalizing our interactions and retention efforts

Susan Backofen

Devin,

This is a great perspective about students and their prior education. You are correct, the reasons they left could be very important to know and address at the start.

Susan Backofen

That is a great idea~ I will try this too. :)

At this point I have not receive information about students that would assist to personalize interactions . However this is a great idea and could be useful in our institution

student records personal information on students, such as their interests, obstacles, and the students with whom they are friends.

I am an adjunct instructor at my campus and teach one class per term. I honestly do not know the answer to this question. What I believe would be helpful is to have an orientation process for adjunct instructors to help acclimate them also. Perhaps having this information available on a 1 page fact sheet could be a part of the orientation process. I will make a guess as to what information is collected that might help personalize students at orientation, I would say cultural groups, single parents, car pooling opportunities. I believe these types of circumstances are very real for our culture and population of students.

Our admissions reps introduce potential students to Lead Faculty during their admissions tour. During this informal meeting the student and their guest/parent has a chance to ask any questions they have regarding the program, and receives contact information for their Lead Faculty. This helps in establishing an initial relationship with the student. We don't currently have a data sheet, like some of the other forum participants, but this is an excellent idea that I would like to implement at orientation.

Isabella,