Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

As an instructor I don't know all the information that is gathered in admissions. I think a Faculty in service would be beneficial to inform us of the information gathered. Also a dossier on each student listing pertinent information such as their interest,friends,goals,family education,history.

When it comes to our students, we have ours fill out individual cards with personal contact information as well as give a brief background about ones self.

The simply things and facts about students create a more personal connection. IE: favorite foods/hobbies/interests. Knowing these details helps in establishing a "home" like feel and atmosphere for easy learning.

I collect any negative situations that students will have, such as transportation or child care issues. I also look to see if the students have any learning disabilities or physical disabilities that will hinder their progress in my classes.

We use a student questionnaire. It asks the student about themselves. Why they want to attend school. It asks them if there is any adversity that they can think they will face while attending, and what they can do to over come it. The questionnaire asks them about some of their interests. It also asks them their basic demographic information. The faculty involved with orientation look over these to make it easier to personalize interactions with our new students.

Travis,

How do you collect these and what types of actions or resources do you provide once the barriers are identified?

Susan Backofen