Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Students fears are apart of their reality although we may see them as a fallacy. It is important to implement discussions that allow them to see that other people share the same fears at one point.

On day 1 of class I try to assure studens if they come to class every day and particapate they cannot fail.

Jessica--

These are excellent techniques and yes, I agree that being so accessible in a variety of ways is encouraging and comforting to students. Great job!

Susan

Airaina--

Perception is reality as you point out. Something that is extremely overwhelming to one individual is a non-issue to another. We need to be sensitive to that an assist our students where they are 'at'.

Susan

I teach math foundations and college math. Students almost always have a fear of math and math classes. As an instructor I always like to let the students know that I am there for them. If they don't understand then it is my job to deliver the subject to them so that they can receive understanding. I try to make them feel confident in themselves and math. I spend time before and after class to have study sessions with them.

Students have fears and concerns regarding various issues, such as: their decision regarding enrollment in college,chosen fields and their ability to succeed in school,going on to achieve their dreams of having fulfilling careers.

These are well founded fears and should be addressed openly,positively and realistically,while providing support services,mentoring programs and success strategies,designed to achieve success.

Students should be encouraged to express and share their fears,as this alone fosters bonding, a sense of community,as well as opens up the path of benefiting from programs aimed at students success.