Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

The program I work in is in the healthcare field. So, one of the most important things we try to do in orientation is to give them honest information on the expectations of the program. The program is very rigorous, and we want students to get a feel for the field they are going into. We provide demonstrations in our lab to allow the students to see some of the skills they will be learning. We have a Power Point presentation that is presented sharing expectations of the field itself. A question and answer period is conducted during and at the end of the presentation.

While I am not involved directly with orientation, I am an instructor in a course that is generally taken by students in their first quarter at our institution. On the very first day of class there are several things that I do to ease the students minds about feeling like they aren't going to "fit in" with their classmates. First, I use an icebreaker. I have all of the students introduce themselves, tell us why they chose this college, and tell one thing about them that is completely unique. Then we talk as a group about the things that make us a part of the same team. For instance, the fact that we are all motivated to be here starting a new chapter in our lives at the same time. :) I also make sure to give them all of the information they will need to contact me should they need anything or if they have questions. I have started including Facebook as a method of contact since it has become the preferred source of contact for many of our students. I've found that just by being friendly and approachable it really helps my relationship with my students.

Starting with new students, I share my bio and reason for my chosen profession, to keep the human factor involved. Then ask each student to share something about themselves. This can create common bonds on the first day of class