Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

I have learned the importance of easy navigation and have an inviting first page.

I did not know that only 20% of private schools offer online learnng.

Only 6% of public schools offer online learning.

Students who have taken my classes often praised the navigational simplicity of the set up.  That said, they did want activities with more interaction.  Discussions were fine, but they wanted "more."  They just didn't give examples of more "what."

It is important that students can easily navigate the course and find the learning modules with ease right off the start.  Additionally, well placed announcements to guide the student in starting the class is helpful as well.  Secondly, as an instructor, I want to ensure that I am connecting with my students right away, via email, phone call, and/or text message to troubleshoot any initial questions the student may have as he/she begins the class.

Joyce Hladky

Easy navigation is important for all students - first-timers and old-timers - since all students need easy access to course information

Students in an online program need a variety of learning methods in order to connect with the content and the instructor. The ability to be engaged in the learning environment with others is essential in order to see relevance in the material being taught.

Integrating media strategies or different content is essential to engage learners. 

The big takeaway I learned from this program section is that case studies need built-in strategies to engage every student. As educators, we know students take one of two approaches to group work. Some students do as little work as possible, and the other students will pick up the slack to not have the lack of work by their group members affect their grades. I will take the time to investigate ways to incorporate strategies to enhance the group work experience, and every student has an active role in the case studies.