Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

I use you tube all the time to fill in for some examples of techniques that I may not have a video for. I also use it when a student does a project on something new to the field to not only learn something myself but to let students get the new visual on up and coming techniques. Hopefully inspiring new interest in their chosen field. I also use critical thinking pictures during times where students seem to be losing focus to get them back into the game. like the 9 dot puzzle (clue to solving: think outside the box). I am always looking for new and inventive ways to keep students engaged and learning.

Kimberly, thanks for sharing some of the creative approaches you use to teach. I am just beginning to use youtube, but love what I have found so far!

I am also excited to use Interactive Learning Activity to my new students. The ability to use more than one sense at a time will help them respond to any unexpected behavior that they are going to encounter in the clinical setting.

I love games because it helps test there knowledge and make them think while having fun.

Roselyn, if you prepare more than one approach to a lesson, you will be able to reach all your learners when you are done. Getting them ready for the clinical situations is a good plan.

I agree, Teresa. Any time you can get them to have fun while learning ensures memory will be created.

I'm a Clinical Instructor for Vocational Nurse students and I assign them to two floors of the facility; I would definitely use "Dot on Watch" strategy.